Motorsport Wrap for Monday 10th May 2010


Australia's Mark Webber has won his first grand prix of the 2010 Formula One season and the third of his career with a dominant display of driving at the Spanish Grand Prix in Barcelona.

Spain GP Podium 2010

Starting from pole position on the softer of Bridgestone's Potenza tyre compounds, Webber made a perfect getaway and was never headed on his way to a comfortable victory.  

"Everything went my way today, it was very good. It felt like the longest Grand Prix I've ever done though!" Webber said.

"With my other victories there has been a bit more going on as I wasn't always in the lead, but today was all about watching the lap board go down and it just takes forever! It was so good to get the victory; I'm just stoked, absolutely over the moon."

McLaren's Lewis Hamilton looked headed for second ahead of Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel but both suffered late problems. Hamilton suffered a wheel failure and crashed into a tyre wall while Vettel started to lose his front brakes and had to nurse his car into third place behind crowd favourite Fernando Alonso.

Michael Schumacher enjoyed his best result since making his comeback to Formula One with fourth place, just ahead of reigning world champion Jenson Button who still leads the 2010 title race albeit by only three points from Alonso.

"Mark Webber's performance was exceptional and Red Bull had a very good set-up with both compounds of tyre here," said Hirohide Hamashima - Bridgestone Director of Motorsport Tyre Development.

"The hard and the soft compounds worked well today and the track condition continued to improve. The hard compound was very consistent once it was warmed up and was used for the race's fastest lap, on low fuel loads near the end of the race. The soft compound gave a good lap time straight away and was capable of longer first stints than we generally saw."

The teams now have just a week before the Monaco Grand Prix around the streets of Monte Carlo.


 1. Jenson Button (GB) McLaren 70 points
 2. Fernando Alonso (Sp)  Ferrari    67
 3. Sebastien Vettel (Ger) Red Bull                 60
 4. Mark Webber (Aus)     Red Bull               53