Bridgestone Motorsport Wrap for 9th June 2009

Bridgestone Motorsport Wrap for 9th June 2009



Britain's Jenson Button has moved another step closer to the 2009 Formula One Championship with victory in the Turkish Grand Prix - his sixth win from seven races this year.

F1 Podium Turkey 2009

Pole-sitter Sebastian Vettel made a mistake on the first lap and that was all the opportunity that Button needed as he used a two-stop tyre strategy - starting on the hard Bridgestone compound before switching to the soft rubber for the final stretch - to extend his championship lead over teammate Rubens Barrichello, who failed to finish.

"The car was the best it has felt all year," Button said after the race.

"We have been quick on other occasions and the car has been a bit loose and hasn't really suited my style but today the car was immense. It really was. I have got to say a massive thank you to everyone. It just keeps getting better."

Australia's Mark Webber continued his great season with another second place ahead of his Red Bull teammate Sebastian Vettel, who appeared angry that his team hadn't altered their pit stop strategy in an effort to catch Button.

Bridgestone's hard tyre proved to be the superior race tyre in the hot conditions, with good consistency. Button set the race's fastest lap, a 1min 27.579secs, using the hard tyre on lap 40.

"I am happy to say we did not have any tyre problems at this very severe circuit, even in the notorious Turn Eight," said Hirohide Hamashima, Bridgestone's Director of Motorsport Tyre Development.

"Tyre strategy considerations were quite straight forward as the lap time difference between the two compounds at this circuit was not so big, but the hard was more durable. We did see one stop strategies, illustrating that even the soft tyre was capable of doing a long stint."

World championship standings:

 1. Jenson Button                                          Brawn GP  61
 2. Rubens Barichello            Brawn GP  35
 3. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull29
 4. Mark WebberRed Bull27.5
 5. Jarno Trulli Toyota19.5
 6. Timo GlockToyota13