Bridgestone Motorsport Wrap for March 30th 2009

Bridgestone Motorsport Wrap for March 30th 2009


Dream start for Brawn GP

Bridgestone Potenza slick tyres made their grand prix return at the Australian Grand Prix where Jenson Button made the perfect debut for the Brawn GP team, dominating from pole position to take a commanding win.


Button used a combination of the medium and super soft Potenzas to lead home teammate Rubens Barrichello and Toyota's Jarno Trulli. However, Trulli was later penalised for passing while behind the safety car, promoting defending world champion Lewis Hamilton to third.

It was a dream event for Brawn GP, with the ex-Honda cars dominating every session. And, it was an emotional weekend for team principle Ross Brawn.

"It's difficult to put into words what this win means to our team but I'm sure that I speak for every single one of them, here at the track and back at the factory in Brackley, when I say it has been a wonderful weekend," said Ross Brawn.

The latest specification cars and Bridgestone's slick tyres meant a challenging 58 laps around the Albert Park circuit with the different performance of Bridgestone's two compounds one of the talking points of the event.

"Firstly, congratulations to Jenson Button and the Brawn GP team for winning and Rubens Barrichello for coming second in an exceptionally exciting race," said Hirohide Hamashima, Bridgestone's Director of Motorsport Tyre Development.

"Bridgestone's slick tyres and our new allocation philosophy gave competitors a lot to think about and some managed better than others.

"Tyre strategy was crucial to making up places, and the key to getting a good result here was having a good setup with the super soft tyre as the performance of this tyre dropped off very quickly. The medium tyre was very robust and allowed good strategy and setup options for teams."

The teams now travel to Malaysia for this weekend's second round of the World Championship.

Championship standings

  1. Jenson Button                     Brawn GP                          10
  2. Rubens Barichello              Brawn GP                            8
  3. Lewis Hamilton                   McLaren                              6
  4. Timo Glock                          Toyota                                  5
  5. Fernando Alonso                Renault                               4
  6. Nico Rosberg                      Williams                              3
  7. Sebastien Buemi                Torro Rosso                        2
  8. Sebastien Bourdais            Torro Rosso                        1