Motorsport Wrap for Monday 27th September 2010


Double world champion Fernando Alonso has moved to within nine points of Australia's Mark Webber in the chase for the 2010 drivers' title with a brilliant drive in the Singapore Grand Prix.

Singapore GP Podium 2010

Starting from pole on Bridgestone's super-soft compound Potenza tyres, the Spaniard held off Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel in a race-long battle to take back-to-back wins after his victory in Italy.

"This win is very significant. We wanted to confirm our success in Monza at a completely different type of track and we succeeded at the end of a very hard and extremely stressful race, both for me and for the car, on a track that I like a lot and which is well suited to my driving style," Alonso said.

"There are four races to go and the championship is very open. We are not considered favourites for the races that lie ahead of us, but none of them are anything to be frightened about."

Webber held onto his championship lead with third place, a result made possible by the excellent longevity of his medium-compound Bridgestone tyres. He pitted early in the race to switch from the super-soft rubber, and the strategy paid off with a podium finish - despite making contact with the McLaren of Lewis Hamilton in an incident that ended the British driver's race.

"Mark showed the durability of the medium compound by completing almost all of the race distance on the same set of tyres," said Hirohide Hamashima, Bridgestone's Director of Motorsport Tyre Development.

"Not only did Mark's tyres continue to deliver strong performance, but they also withstood the contact with Lewis. In this contact the front right tyre sidewall was pushed out of alignment with the rim, yet it retained its inner pressure for the rest of the race. We can say that this tyre displayed true Japanese grit today."

The teams now head to Suzuka for the Japanese Grand Prix on October 8-10.


1. Mark Webber (Aust) Red Bull 202 points 
2. Fernando Alonso (Sp) Ferrari  191 
3. Lewis Hamilton (GB) McLaren 182 
4. Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Red Bull 181 
5. Jenson Button (GB) McLaren 177