Motorsport Wrap for Monday 20th August 2012

Pedrosa Edging Closer To Lorenzo

Dani Pedrosa scored his second win of the season at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, closing the gap on rival Jorge Lorenzo in the MotoGP championship standings.


The Repsol Honda rider started on pole position but lost out in the early stages of the race, before working his way to the front where he established a fast pace - setting a new record fastest lap of 1'39.088.


A combination of Bridgestone's harder slick options for front and rear tyres was a decision that would ultimately see Pedrosa finish the race 10.82 seconds ahead of leading compatriot Lorenzo.


Pedrosa admitted his selection worked well at a circuit known to be quite punishing on tyres.


"It's been a good weekend for me, the bike was working well although we were sliding all the way around the track," he said.


"The bike felt good and I had good pace, but it was a tough race and I had to work hard to keep my concentration.


"Thanks to my team and everyone around me for helping me get this win."


With track conditions ranging from 45 to 48°C, every rider opted for the harder front slick option, with an equal split for rear tyre choice.


"The Indianapolis Motor Speedway circuit has an abrasive tarmac which resulted in all riders opting for the harder front slick option, but divided rear tyre selection," said Masao Azuma, Chief Engineer with Bridgestone Motorsport's Tyre Development Department.


"Almost every rider on the more powerful works machines selected the harder rear slick, while the majority of the CRT bikes selected the softer rear slick for its slight advantage in edge grip.


"Weather and track conditions for the race were similar to yesterday so tyre choice was largely reflected by yesterday's race simulations."


Pedrosa's win moved him to second place, 18 points behind championship leader Jorge Lorenzo, with Casey Stoner ranking third on 186 points.

Championship Standings

1. Jorge Lorenzo 225 points
2. Dani Pedrosa 207 points
3. Casey Stoner 186 points
4. Andrea Dovizioso 137 points